top of page

Alert Level 2 remains at Metro Manila

The National Capital Region remains on Alert Level 2 from December 1 to December 15, said Cabinet Secretary Karlo Nograles last Monday, November 29, 2021.

In a statement released by Sec. Nograles, he stated that the Metro Manila will still be under Alert Level 2 as per recommendation and approval by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases.

Prior to the decision, the government is eyeing to place Metro Manila under a relaxed Alert Level 1 if the government can sustain its fight for COVID-19 by December.

Aside from Metro Manila, other places included in the master list for Alert Level 2 are the following.

Cordillera Administrative Region

  • Benguet

  • Abra

  • Kalinga

  • Baguio City

  • Mountain Province

  • Ifugao

Region I

  • Dagupan City

  • Ilocos Sur

  • Ilocos Norte

  • La Union

  • Pangasinan

Region II

  • Batanes

  • Cagayan

  • Isabela

  • Nueva Vizcaya

  • Quirino

  • City of Santiago

Region III

  • Angeles City

  • Aurora

  • Bataan

  • Bulacan

  • Nueva Ecija

  • Olongapo City

  • Pampanga

  • Zambales

  • Tarlac

Region IV-A

  • Cavite

  • Laguna

  • Batangas

  • Rizal

  • Quezon

  • Lucena City

Region IV-B

  • Occidental Mindoro

  • Oriental Mindoro

  • Puerto Princesa City

  • Marinduque

  • Romblon

  • Palawan

Region V

  • Albay

  • Camarines Norte

  • Camarines Sur

  • Catanduanes

  • Sorsogon

  • Masbate

  • Naga City

Region VI

  • Aklan

  • Antique

  • Bacolod City

  • Capiz

  • Guimaras

  • Iloilo

  • Iloilo City

  • Negros Occidental

Region VII

  • Bohol

  • Cebu

  • Cebu City

  • Lapu-Lapu City

  • Mandaue City

  • Negros Oriental

  • Siquijor

Region VIII

  • Biliran

  • Eastern Samar

  • Leyte

  • Northern Samar

  • Ormoc City

  • Southern Leyte

  • Tacloban City

  • Western Samar

Region IX

  • City of Isabela

  • Zamboanga City

  • Zamboanga del Norte

  • Zamboanga del Sur

  • Zamboanga Sibugay

Region X

  • Bukidnon

  • Cagayan de Oro City

  • Camiguin

  • Iligan City

  • Lanao del Norte

  • Misamis Occidental

  • Misamis Oriental

Region XI

  • Davao City

  • Davao del Norte

  • Davao de Oro

  • Davao del Sur

  • Davao Occidental

  • Davao Oriental

Region XII

  • General Santos City

  • North Cotabato

  • Sarangani

  • South Cotabato

  • Sultan Kudarat

Region XIII

  • Butuan City

  • Surigao del Norte

  • Agusan del Sur

  • Surigao del Sur

  • Dinagat Islands

  • Agusan del Norte

Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

  • Basilan

  • Cotabato City

  • Tawi-Tawi

  • Sulu, Lanao del Sur

  • Maguindanao

On the other hand, Apayao is the lone province under Alert Level 3, according to Secretary Nograles.

Alert Level 1 is not “feasible” yet

In a televised briefing last November 30, 2021, the government admitted that it is not yet ready to declare

Alert Level 1 in any part of the country, including Metro Manila.

According to Secretary Nograles during the press briefing, they are finalizing the parameters needed to be considered before qualifying to Alert Level 1.

Sa ngayon meron pa kaming tini-tweak at fina-finalize na mga parameters. Right now, hindi tayo handa na mag-declare ng any alert level 1," stated by Sec. Nograles.

Last Monday, the government declared that many parts of the country would remain under Alert Level 2 except for Apayao raised under Alert Level 3.

However, chances of being lowered to Alert Level 1 during the Christmas Holidays depend on the situations such as the average daily attack rate, two-week growth rate, and healthcare utilization rate.

Currently, the government is monitoring the possible entry of the new COVID-19 variant, Omicron, which triggered the sudden rise of COVID-19 cases in South Africa.

7 views0 comments


bottom of page